to Sylvia's Scripts 

      Cannons roar. Musket-rifles send bullets whizzing through the air above Alex McPhail’s head, but not once does he regret leaving Florida to fight for the preservation of the Union. In dispute with his father over ‘States’ Rights’, he walks away from a life of wealth and privilege. Instead, he meets death, hunger, disease, battle fatigue, and sometimes defeat.
     His inexperience and idealistic view of life matures as the Civil War drags on and he realizes that whether a man is dressed in a blue uniform or gray, all feel pain when wounded, all show emotions of love and hate, and all want the guns to silence so each can go home.
     For Alex, his four-year journey is riddled with hills and valleys. Disownment by his father, a disciplined military life-style, the impact of first love, and the loss of a devoted family member each contribute to his belief that every man walks a solitary road. How it ends is a matter of true convictions..

Available from Amazon 

Welcome to my website. I reside in Milton, Florida, with my husband Al. We have one married son and two grandsons who live in Maine-a long way from their grandma and grandpa. 

 As an elementary school teacher, my passion is teaching young children how to write creatively. I believe reading and writing go hand-in-hand. If a child can write, he can read.

 I’m a founding member of the Panhandle Writers Group and with their support and motivation for the past five years, I’ve written several short stories, essays and two novels. Since I was born and raised in Ontario, Canada, my writing often reflects my heritage.

 “Convictions”, is a historical romance set during the American Civil War and tells the story of a young man fighting to stay true to his convictions.

 “Summer Guest”, is a romance between a wounded American veteran and a feisty, determined Canadian fighting to save her family from financial ruin.

 “Helena:Unwavering Courage”, is a true story of my widowed grandmother’s struggle to raise five children on her own. Both books are available on Amazon.com.

"Southern Sage"-The Honorable Woodrow Melvin is a biography of my husband's uncle who was one of the most respected and wise judges in Florida. Starting as a small town lawyer he retired as a judge on the Appellate  Court.

"Death Behind the Dunes" is a murder mystery set on the coast of northwest Florida. A high school reunion ends in tragedy when one of its former pupils is found dead behind a dune. The investigating Lieutenant,also a former graduate must find the killer of the woman he once loved.

"Death Beyond the Breakers" --  A dead body is discovered in a shrimpboats trolling net. Was the victim murdered by drug runners? Was he on an oil company's hit list, or did the man die of natural causes? Mystery with a hint of romance.

"Death on Blackwater Bay" -- A judge is murdered, and suspicion falls on an ex-con, an innocent man recently released from prison, sent there by the judge eighteen years ago. Can the cop who believes in him prove his innocence?

All of my novels may be found on Amazon.com

A menu of short stories is available to read online.

Thank you for visiting; please come again.


wordpress hit counter

Copyright © 2012 - 2015 by Sylvia Melvin. All rights reserved
Website design by Word Slinger Boutique